top of page

Several Looks and Start of Summer

If you want to see more of my blogs don't forget to subscribe on the home page. I would totally appreciate your support and it would help me get out there for more people to see my thoughts and learn to enjoy makeup as much as I do. Also follow me on Twitter @crrobb and on Instagram @cristinarobb1980 where I post about 4 times throughout the day.

Sorry for the brief absence from my blog, but between ending the school year and Memorial Day weekend I wanted to take some time to enjoy my family. Here are my last five looks that I have used and I am loving experimenting and exploring makeup. I know that there might be some unsaid rules of what is the type of look to go with in the summer and winter months, but my thinking is you do what you like and what works for you and that the only rule is that there are not any rules. Not everyone is going to like what you do or how you look, but in the end my thinking is that you like what you like. I am finding that I am learning a lot just by trial and error and watching YouTube videos. I think that a lot makeup is just a trial and error learning process because products that work for you may not work for someone else. One example is that I hear a lot of YouTubers talking about full coverage and wanting to cover their freckles and stuff...and while I like some coverage for evening things out I like when my freckles peek through.

I have learned that there are a lot of brands that I seem to be leaning towards...Makeup Revolution, Essence, ELF, Physicians Formula are several brands that I have many products from. I also purchased my first eyebrow pencil from e.l.f. and I love it! It is so easy to work with and blends in with my natural eyebrow color and makes them look less patchy. I know that everyone talks about the Anastasia Brow Wiz and while I have never tried it and am sure that it is a great product, but I can't imagine spending the money on it when I have found something that works as well as this e.l.f. product. I also have been using the stick foundation by Makeup Revolution which I initially bought because of a love for the brand and also wanting to try a stick foundation to see if I liked it so I could justify buying a higher priced product like the Hourglass Vanish Stick. What I found is again that I loved the product so much that I would rather just continue to use and repurchase it. I would still like to explore using some higher end product brands like Urban Decay, Tarte, and Anastasia Beverly Hills...but I find that I am in less of a hurry and have many products currently that I like and I will keep an eye out for sales and deals through places like Nordstrom Rack and Marshalls.

Now that summer has started and I will be spending a bit more time outside by the pool and in the heat I am trying to find the look and products that will work best for me. I don't want to do a crazy elaborate look to have it sweat off or wash off when I go swimming. I have no idea what to take off the list...but I am thinking lighter coverage foundations and maybe a simple eye look or no eye shadow look for pool days. I might also start carrying my setting spray in my purse to kind of help not only reset my makeup but cool off my face. Let the summer fun begin!!!


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page